Full list of South Lanarkshire general election candidates

Full list of South Lanarkshire general election candidates

Full list of South Lanarkshire general election candidates


Full list of South Lanarkshire general election candidates

There are five constituencies across the local authority area

Voters across South Lanarkshire are getting set to go to the polls in the general election on July 4.

Local news, events and business What’s On In Motherwell?

Ballot papers are now being prepared in the five seat across the local authority area after nominations closed on Friday – and new boundaries are in place as the number of Scottish MPs reduces by two to 57

Hamilton is now reunited within the same constituency for the first time in nearly three decades, while the redrawn and renamed Rutherglen also includes Blantyre, Bothwell, Uddingston and Cambuslang. Results in both seats and in the East Kilbride & Strathaven constituency will be declared by South Lanarkshire returning officer Paul Manning at John Wright sports centre in the early hours of July 5.

Carluke and areas including Forth and Tarbrax are now in the Motherwell, Wishaw & Carluke seat, with votes being counted at Ravenscraig sports centre in Motherwell; while residents in Biggar, Carstairs and Coalburn are included in the Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale & Tweeddale constituency

Mr Manning said: “We would encourage everyone to use their vote in the forthcoming UK general election; please be aware that to vote in person you will need an acceptable form of photo ID to show to the polling staff.“

The candidates standing across South Lanarkshire are:

Ross Alexander Lambie, Conservative

Donald Mackay, UKIP

Ann McGuiness, Scottish Greens

David Mills, Reform

Aisha Mir, Liberal Democrats

Joani Reid, Labour

David Richardson, Scottish Family Party

Hamilton & Clyde Valley

Kyle Burns, Liberal Democrats

Ross Clark, SNP

Christopher Ho, UKIP

Lisa Judge, Reform

Richard Nelson, Conservative

Imogen Walker, Labour


Gloria Adebo, Liberal Democrats

Bill Bonnar, Scottish Socialist Party

Gary Burns, Conservative

Andrew Vincent Daly, independent

Jim Eadie, Alba

Katy Loudon, SNP

John McArthur, Scottish Family Party

Michael Shanks, Labour

David Stark, Reform UK

Motherwell, Wishaw & Carluke

Oyebola Regina Ajala, Conservative

Hayley Bennie, Liberal Democrats

Marion Fellows, SNP

Gus Ferguson, British Unionists

Ross Hagen, Scottish Libertarian Party

Robert McLaughlan, Reform UK

Gordon Thomas Miller, Scottish Greens

Pamela Nash, Labour

Neil Wilson, UK Independence Party

Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale & Tweeddale

Dominic Ashmole, Scottish Greens

Drummond Begg, Liberal Democrats

Daniel Coleman, Labour

Gareth Kirk, Scottish Family Party



*Don’t miss the latest headlines – Motherwell News and Events

And did you know What’s on in Motherwell had its own local business directory?





Be the first to comment on "Full list of South Lanarkshire general election candidates"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.